Free Fire India Weapon Categories and Official Descriptions
Garena's official weapon page filters 11 categories and its first-screen cards confirm 12 weapons; 2026 patches name 9 more. Stats need India-client checks.
This page collects the category filters and first-screen card descriptions on Garena’s English official weapon page, plus the weapon names that appear in 2026 patch notes, into a single quick-reference table. It is not a complete gun list: the official page loads more cards behind “LOAD MORE”, and whether the India client exposes the same page content is still unverified. This page answers only “how does the official page describe this gun” — not “how much damage does this gun do in the India client right now”.
Which categories can you filter by on the official weapon page?
The official English weapon page offers 11 category filters: Launcher, Machine Gun, Sub-Machine Gun, Melee, Rifle, Pistol, Shotgun, Bow, Sniper, Projectiles, Marksman Rifle. Besides categories, it also offers four sort options: Damage, Rate of Fire, Range, Accuracy. Page cards show only the weapon name, a short description and tags.
The table below maps the type descriptions that appear in the source text back to those categories. Classification follows what the source calls each weapon directly (for example “fully automatic machine gun”, “single-shot shotgun”, “lever-action marksman rifle”), not this page’s own inference; categories the source never names are marked “Not recorded”.
| Official category | Names the source matches | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Launcher | M79 | The official patch calls it a grenade launcher and discusses it as an explosive weapon |
| Machine Gun | RPK, M249 | The official page calls RPK a fully automatic machine gun; M249 is officially described as usable to destroy incoming vehicles |
| Sub-Machine Gun | MP40, Bizon, Thompson, MP5, P90, MAC10, UMP | The source calls these seven SMGs directly |
| Melee | Not recorded | The category exists, but this batch of sources gives no specific melee weapon names |
| Rifle | M7, SCAR, AUG, AK47, M14, FAMAS, G36, PARAFAL, Woodpecker / M21 Woodpecker | The official page calls M7 a fully automatic assault rifle; the patch lists SCAR, AUG, AK47, M14 and FAMAS under Rifle/AR adjustments; G36 has Assault and Range modes; the official page says both PARAFAL and Woodpecker use AR ammo |
| Pistol | M500, M1917, G18, Desert Eagle | The patch calls M500 a revolver; the rest are listed as pistols or CS match pistols |
| Shotgun | M590, M1887, M1014, SPAS12, MAG-7, Charge Buster, Trogon | M590 is a single-shot shotgun, M1887, M1014, SPAS12 and MAG-7 are all officially called shotguns, Charge Buster is a chargeable shotgun; for Trogon the official page writes only “shotgun mode and grenade mode” and never calls it a shotgun directly |
| Bow | Not recorded | The category exists; the source mentions the crossbow switching to explosive bolts, but this batch of material does not state which category it belongs to |
| Sniper | VSK94, Hawk, M24, AWM, M82B, Kar98K | The official page calls VSK94 a light sniper rifle and Hawk a sniper rifle; the rest come from the sniper balance announcement |
| Projectiles | Gloo Melter | The official card calls it a projectile directly |
| Marksman Rifle | Winchester, SKS, AC80 | Winchester is a lever-action marksman rifle; SKS and AC80 are discussed by the official source as Marksman Rifles |
Four names appear in the sources only as gameplay descriptions with no category, so they are not placed in the table above: Vector (the official page writes only “dual-wield weapon with a short effective range”), Mini UZI (only “a secondary weapon that uses SMG ammo”), PLASMA (only “a weapon with a special mechanic”), and VSS (the patch calls it “a Rifle/sniper adjustment target”, naming both classes).
Evidence level: Global reference — Category names, card descriptions and sort options come from the Free Fire global English official site, not India client screenshots; whether the India client exposes the same page content is unverified.
What are the 12 weapons confirmed on the first screen?
The following 12 are the card entries the official weapon page currently displays directly; descriptions are transcribed from the key points of the source text, with no added numbers.
| Weapon | Key points of the official description |
|---|---|
| Gloo Melter | Projectile; after exploding it creates a corrosion area that damages Gloo Walls inside it and makes them take more damage when attacked |
| Shield Gun | Generates a force-field shield to protect the user; a new shield can still be generated after the shield is damaged |
| Treatment Laser Gun | Locks onto a teammate at medium range and heals them; you need to stay close to the teammate while using it |
| Trogon | Usable in shotgun mode and grenade mode; officially described as suited to both close and long range |
| VSK94 | Light sniper rifle with a special aiming mechanic |
| FGL-24 | Bullets explode and spit flames, with an area effect |
| M590 | Single-shot shotgun; the official page says it deals high damage at close range |
| Winchester | Lever-action marksman rifle with a distinctive firing rhythm and loading mechanic |
| M7 | Fully automatic assault rifle; uses a new recoil mechanic, and the aim point rises during sustained fire |
| Skorp | Uses a recoil mechanic similar to M7; the official description covers its fire rate and armour penetration |
| Hawk | Sniper rifle; officially described as burst fire with a small magazine and high fire rate |
| RPK | Fully automatic machine gun that combines machine gun firepower with assault rifle mobility |
What these 12 have in common is that each one is directly supported by a single sentence on the official card. Conversely, damage, magazine, price and unlock conditions that the cards do not state are not written on this page at all. For how to test recoil, range and attachments separately, see Range roles, recoil and attachments.
The 9 new name groups in the 2026 patches
Besides the first-screen cards, the 2026 patch notes also name another 9 groups of weapons. Their evidence is not an official site card but their inclusion in balance adjustments in the notes, so they prove only that “this gun exists and has been changed”, not what its current stats are.
| Name | Fact the official material supports | Version |
|---|---|---|
| M4A1 | Base and I/II/III versions listed in assault rifle balance | OB55 |
| XM8 | Reload speed and accuracy adjustments | OB55 |
| AN94 | Armour penetration, reload and accuracy adjustments | OB55 |
| Kingfisher | Armour penetration, reload and accuracy adjustments | OB55 |
| Groza / Groza-X | Listed as an airdrop weapon, adjusted again later | OB52, OB55 |
| SVD / SVD-Y | Airdrop weapon adjustment; an older note introduces the Y version as able to penetrate Gloo Walls | OB52, historical notes |
| M60-III | Listed under CS Cyber Items source adjustments | OB52 |
| RGS50 | Magazine capacity adjusted | OB52 |
| Heal Pistol / Heal Pistol-Y | Teammate auto-aim and healing behaviour adjusted | OB52 |
The counting convention is worth keeping: different suffixes (-X, -Y, -III) are not split into separate weapons. By that convention, these 9 rows plus the earlier table total 59 rows, not sixty-odd guns.
Evidence level: Historical version — OB52 is the 2026-01-09 and OB55 the 2026-09-10 global patch note. The notes only say “what direction was adjusted” and give no complete numbers usable as practical reference; whether these adjustments reached the India client needs checking against the client.
Separately, OB52 also subdivides weapon colors into white, light gold, gold, light red and red, distinguished by tiers such as ground, upgrade or airdrop. The source does not state any correspondence between colour and strength, so do not write colour as a strength rating.
Why can’t the M590 splash effect be written anymore?
M590 is a concrete sample of a data accident. Older material says it has explosive bullets with splash, and the official card still says “high close-range damage”, but the OB52 patch explicitly removes the splash effect. In other words, the card’s “explosive bullets” wording is already inconsistent with a later patch, and current guides can no longer use the old mechanic to describe how it lands hits.
The safe way to write it takes three steps: first write “the official card once described it as explosive bullets”, then write “OB52 removed the splash effect”, and finally mark “current India client behaviour pending testing”. That way readers get a change trail rather than a conclusion that may already be void.
Weapon names that appear in patch notes but not on the first screen
Most of these names rest on balance-adjustment entries in patch notes, so their use can only go as far as the official wording:
- Shotguns (the source calls them shotguns directly): M1887 (a developer article positions it at close range and says two shots can pose a high threat), Charge Buster (chargeable; charging increases range and damage and reduces spread), M1014, SPAS12, MAG-7 (officially described as having mid-range capability and a high fire rate, and as more flexible than most shotguns).
- Sub-Machine Guns (the source calls them SMGs directly): MP40, Bizon (suited to close combat, high fire rate but lower accuracy), Thompson, MP5, P90 (large magazine and high fire rate), MAC10, UMP.
- Rifles (the source calls them Rifle / AR / assault rifle, or explicitly says they use AR ammo): SCAR, AUG, AK47, M14, FAMAS (also FAMAS-III), G36 (has Assault and Range modes), PARAFAL (uses AR ammo, combining high damage with mobility), Woodpecker / M21 Woodpecker (uses AR ammo, high armour penetration).
- Marksman Rifles: SKS, AC80.
- Snipers: M24, AWM, M82B (supports an Infrared special enhancement), Kar98K, CG15 (chargeable for higher damage).
- Pistols: M500, M1917, G18, Desert Eagle.
- No category given by the source: Vector (dual-wield weapon, short effective range, strong close-range firepower), Mini UZI (a secondary weapon that uses SMG ammo), PLASMA (an energy-recovery mechanic, limited to Bermuda at the time of that announcement), VSS (the patch calls it a Rifle/sniper adjustment target).
- Others: M79 (grenade launcher), M249 (machine gun, officially said to be usable to destroy incoming vehicles), Crossbow (bolts changed to explosive, dealing area damage, officially said to be able to force enemies out of cover).
The PLASMA entry needs special care: the note says “limited to Bermuda at the time of that announcement”, which does not mean it is still limited now. For Bermuda’s own map changes, see Map changes and the OB54 correction.
The three kinds of information this page deliberately omits
- Numbers for damage, fire rate, magazine and price. The official page has Damage / Rate of Fire / Range / Accuracy sorting, but sort options are not a citable number table, and this batch of sources did not transcribe specific numbers. To write numbers, you must first run a controlled test on the India client.
- How weapons are obtained and what they cost. The sources mention only that Groza / SVD are airdrop weapons and that M60-III involves CS Cyber Items; for the remaining weapons there is no first-hand material on unlocks or pricing.
- The complete number of guns. The official page paginates dynamically, so any claim of “N guns in total” will expire. This page can only say: 12 on the first screen, 9 new groups in the 2026 patches, and a number of names called out in patch notes.
How to keep extending this list?
Expanding the official filter results category by category is more reliable than adding guns alphabetically: fix one category first, record every card name on that page, then go back to the patch notes to confirm when each name was last changed. For the verification order and the definition of evidence levels, see Research methodology; if two sources conflict on the same gun, log it in Conflicts and gaps first rather than writing a different version in each article. For the mapping between patch numbers and announcement dates, see Versions and events archive.
Sources and limitations
Official sources:
- Official weapon page (category filters and first-screen cards)
- Official weapon page, Pakistan English edition (MAG-7, Vector, PARAFAL, Woodpecker descriptions)
- Developer article (M1887, M1014, MP40 and SMG range roles)
- Patch notes: 598, 811, 968, 735, 1456, 1424, 165, 170, 114, 459, 75
- OB52
- OB55
- Official weapon skin explainer
Unverified items:
- Whether the India client exposes the same weapon page content, category split and weapon versions as the global site is unverified.
- Whether there are more weapons beyond the 12 first-screen entries and the 9 groups added by patches: the official page’s pagination has not been checked page by page.
- All damage, fire rate, magazine, reload, price and unlock conditions: not written on this page, and requiring verification against the India client.
- Specific weapon names in the Melee and Bow categories: this batch of sources does not provide them.
- Whether the patch-note balance adjustments have reached the India client and whether they are still in effect are both pending testing.
Related articles
account
Free Fire India Rules: 6-Hour and 3-Hour Caps, Guardian Verification, Spending
From the FFI Play It Right page: 6 hours a day for general users, 3 hours under 18, guardian phone OTP, an unpublished spending cap amount, and the MAX boundary.
maps
Free Fire India Map Changes and the OB54 Correction
OB54 removed Bermuda 2.0 and Alpine, so old notes and the official map page are not the current map pool. Conflict order, version tags and effective dates.
weapons
Free Fire India Weapon Range, Recoil and Attachments: What Counts
Notes on shotgun and SMG range roles, M7 and Skorp recoil, Winchester reload rhythm and skin effects, turned into 13 test fields and why site stats are not damage.
Was this helpful?
Thanks for the feedback!