Skip to content
An independent FFI reference site — every claim carries its evidence level
Powered by Pagefind
English
Guides and mechanics

Free Fire India guide: release, account, modes and device specs

Package name, publisher, age gate, store-listed modes and device specs for Free Fire India, sorted into official statements and client-side gaps.

10/28/2026 FFI Research Team Last verified: 10/28/2026 11 min read

This page answers the questions players ask first: what the India version is, whether you can download it, what the account requirements are, and whether your phone can run it. The material comes from the Garena India announcement, the India FAQ, the Google Play product page and Garena global customer service configuration notes, all labelled separately as “official statement” or “client-side test”. This site has not tested the India client item by item, so anything marked as needing a device test is not treated as a conclusion.

Is Free Fire India the same game as global Free Fire?

It is not the same app. The Garena India launch announcement calls Free Fire India (FFI) a standalone app and states in the same paragraph that it has been optimised for a range of phones and includes local Indian cultural events and game health-management features. So “experience from the global version” cannot be carried over as India-version fact: version numbers, event content, balance changes and even what the store sells may not be in sync.

Evidence level: India official — The announcement body explicitly describes FFI as a standalone app and gives the download channels; the announcement does not list its feature differences against the global version one by one.

To work out which one you installed, look at the package name and the publisher, not the icon or the name.

What did the 2026-10-27 announcement say, and when can you download?

  • The body of the announcement “Free Fire India Is Here” carries the date 2026-10-27 and sits on the article/1191 page at ffindia.garenaind.com.
  • The body states that FFI is a standalone app on the App Store and Google Play, and can be downloaded free of charge from 2026-10-28.
  • The body mentions an ongoing Diwali campaign during the launch period, ending on November 15.
  • The body lists healthy-gaming commitments: parental consent for users under 18, periodic break reminders, play-time limits and spending caps.
  • The esports section is directional only (working with Indian partners, supporting a path from grassroots to campus to international); it gives no event name, registration entry, date, rules or prize pool.

There is one date detail: the news item on the site homepage shows 26/10/2026, while the announcement body page shows 27/10/2026. This site uses the body-page date and does not infer time zones or back-office publish times.

Evidence level: India official — The date, the free download, the Diwali campaign end date and the healthy-gaming items all come from the announcement body.

What the announcement leaves out matters just as much: the exact start of the Diwali campaign, its time zone, quest steps, reward list and eligibility, and whether every device sees an install button on day one are all absent from the body. A free download also does not mean every in-game item is free.

What do the package name, publisher and store page confirm?

Item What the store page shows What it confirms
Product name Free Fire India Product page title
Publisher Garena International III Developer field on the product page
Package name com.garena.game.ffi The id parameter in the product page URL
Page-stated update time 2026-10-10 The store page’s own statement, earlier than the launch announcement

Three more points need to be spelled out:

  • What this review retrieved was the United States region Google Play page; it showed a Teen rating, violence/blood, user interaction, in-app purchases including random items, and a wishlist entry. That only shows how the page displayed at retrieval time and does not prove whether users in India can install it right now.
  • The official FAQ separately mentions Google Play 16+ and Apple 17+. Ratings differ by store region and are not a legal age threshold.
  • The Apple page linked from the official site returned 404 on this US-region visit; that does not mean it is unavailable in the India region, and it cannot be read backwards as proof that it is listed.

Evidence level: Unverified — Whether the India-region store currently allows installation on a specific device, and whether the install button is visible, has to be confirmed on an India-region account and real hardware.

Account and age: what must you do before signing up?

The official FAQ and the Play It Right page both state that users under 18 must obtain parent/guardian consent before creating an account and provide the guardian’s phone number for one-time OTP verification. The FAQ does not explain when the OTP is sent, whether every login is verified, or how to change the guardian number.

Among the measures listed on the Play It Right page (body date also 2026-10-27), the parts that can be confirmed are:

  • Parental consent and phone verification: required before sign-up for users under 18.
  • Periodic break reminders: the player is prompted to pause at certain intervals; the interval in minutes, whether it can be turned off and what happens if ignored are not stated.
  • Play-time limits: 6 hours a day for general users and 3 hours a day for users under 18; after reaching the cap you wait for the time window to reset. The reset moment, time zone, whether it accumulates across devices and how a match already in progress is handled are not stated.
  • Spending caps: only that users under 18 are subject to a cap; there is no amount, no daily or weekly period and no payment-confirmation method.
  • Reduced stimulation: it claims red blood and some visual effects are not shown and are replaced with a less stimulating presentation; the full list of replaced items is not given, nor whether it can be toggled.

One trap has to be called out here: the widely circulated “underage spending cap of ₹7,000 per day” comes from the description of a 2026-08-03 official channel video labelled Free Fire MAX, not from FFI app rules. The FFI page only says a cap exists and gives no amount.

Evidence level: India official — The 6 hours / 3 hours, the break reminders, the parental consent and the low-stimulation visuals come from the official FFI page; the amount is not among them.

Details on guardians, spending and appeals are collected on India version rules: play time / guardian / spending and Account and troubleshooting FAQ.

Which modes does the store copy list?

The table below is the description on the Google Play product page. It is store copy, and this site has not tested each item in the client:

Mode What the product page says What still needs checking
Classic Battle Royale Players fight 49 others on the island for about 10 minutes per match; drop, loot, avoid the electromagnetic zone, revival and side quests Actual player count, rank and matchmaking, map pool, revival rules, whether it is the same on every device
Clash Squad 4 versus 4, about 7 minutes, best-of-seven, emphasising resource allocation and team strategy Round win conditions, economy and shop, ranked, match length
Craftland You can create playable maps and custom gameplay; the copy says there are more than 50 interactive objects Editor features in the India version, publishing requirements, review and map codes
Character System The copy says more than 50 characters, each with skills and combos, outfits and loadouts Whether each character is currently available, its skills, unlock path and whether it is paid

The numbers on the product page (50 players, about 10 minutes, 4v4, best-of-seven, more than 50 characters and so on) are marketing copy, not a current item-by-item inventory. Use them for an overview, then confirm in the in-game menus.

Evidence level: Unverified — The player counts, durations and quantities above are all store copy and have not been checked in the India client.

In-game economy: what can and cannot be stated?

The official FAQ puts it this way: players can earn tools that enhance gameplay and in-game currency by playing, and use them to buy characters and items; they can also buy Diamonds with real money. But the FAQ gives no full price list, top-up tiers, random-item probabilities or refund outcomes.

So this page does not write “how much a Diamond tier costs” or “how many pulls guarantee a drop” — to write prices, taxes, probabilities, pity rules and refunds you have to record the actual purchase screen item by item, with the date and region noted. Card draws and reward structures are covered separately in Reward economy and card draws.

Evidence level: Unverified — Store price tiers, probability disclosure, pity rules and refund outcomes have no verifiable first-party FFI numbers; do not trust any “free Diamonds” promise.

What are the minimum device requirements?

The minimum configuration note from Garena global customer service (page dated 2021-12-06) gives the global version’s general figures, not India-version specific ones:

Platform Minimum playable configuration Officially recommended configuration for a better experience
Android Android 4.4; dual-core 1.2 GHz; RAM 1 GB; storage 1.5 GB or more Android 7; octa-core 1.8 GHz; RAM 3 GB; storage 3 GB or more
iOS iOS 9; iPhone 5s; RAM 1 GB; storage 1.5 GB or more iOS 11 or later; iPhone 7; RAM 3 GB; storage 3 GB or more

The original text notes that the minimum configuration only means the game can run, not that it will be smooth or perform at its best. That page was published a long time ago, so it cannot guarantee that FFI in 2026 supports these older systems, nor that these models can download from the India-region store.

Evidence level: Global reference — The configuration table comes from global customer-service documentation, not India-version testing, and cannot be taken as the India-version minimum requirement.

How much space should the install take?

The 1.5 GB+ / 3 GB+ in the customer-service document is a device free-storage requirement, not the app-store package size and not the total footprint after the download finishes. The official global FAQ only says Android downloads from Google Play and iOS from the App Store; it lists no install size.

None of the official material retrieved for this review gives FFI’s current store download size, the resource download on first launch or the full install footprint, so this site does not state a specific number.

Evidence level: Unverified — There are no official figures for the current India-version install size or the first-launch resource bundle; whether different stores or devices show different sizes is also unknown.

What should you confirm before downloading?

Accept only the official store as the download channel: package name com.garena.game.ffi, publisher Garena International III; third-party APK sites are not official sources. Once installed, confirm the version and graphics preset before entering a match, and note the device model, OS version, network and first-entry time so troubleshooting is easier.

The next step is Beginner training flow; graphics, HUD and sensitivity are covered in Sensitivity, HUD and graphics.

Sources and limitations

Official sources:

Still unverified:

  • Whether the India-region store currently allows installation on specific devices, and whether the install button was visible on day one: not tested.
  • The player counts, match durations, character counts and interactive-object counts in the store copy: not checked in the client.
  • Price tiers, random-item probabilities, pity rules and refund outcomes: no first-party FFI numbers.
  • FFI’s current install size and first-launch resource download: no official figures.
  • Apple India-region page status: only the US-region page was visited and it returned 404, so the India region cannot be judged from it.
  • Diwali campaign quest steps, rewards and eligibility: not disclosed in the announcement; waiting on official event terms or client confirmation.
  • Whether the 2021 customer-service configuration still applies to FFI in 2026: unknown.

Evidence level: Unverified — None of the descriptions of client behaviour on this page has an India-version test record yet; definitions of the verification method and evidence levels are in Research method and evidence levels.

Related articles

Was this helpful?